Richmond News


Date ArticleType
5/1/2014 Press Release
First Responders Honoured at 12th Annual Richmond Chamber of Commerce 911 Awards

Emergency Responders Honoured at 12th Annual

Richmond Chamber of Commerce 911 Awards 

From left to right: Richmond Chamber of Commerce Director, and representative of title Sponsor WorkSafeBC Scott McCloy, Inspector. Sean Maloney, RCMP Officer of the Year Cst. Vasile Mares, and Chief Super Intendant Brian Catera

RICHMOND, B.C. – On the evening of April 30th, the Richmond Chamber of Commerce and the City of Richmond, with the support of title partner WorkSafeBC, hosted the 12th Annual 911 awards at the River Rock Casino, honouring the tireless dedication of first responders in the community.  This year’s emcee was Randene Neill from Global News and the guest speaker was Peter German, Regional Deputy Commissioner Pacific Region, Corrections Canada.

The Richmond 911 awards is the only event of its kind in Canada, recognizing first responders and support staff from all agencies, at one special Gala event. Speaking about this annual tradition, Executive Director of the Richmond Chamber of Commerce, Craig Jones said, “year after year we are honoured to recognize local heroes in our community and are astounded by the extraordinary work and dedication of our first responding men and women here in Richmond.”


2014 911 Awards Recipients:




Community Safety Initiative

PAD Program: PCP Lawrence Cheng, PCP Roger Mah, ACP Kathy Pascuzzo, PCP Allen Pruden



Community Safety Volunteer

ACP Jeff Watts, Retired High School First Responder Program



Community Safety Business Partner

Scott McTavish, Coast Mountain Bus Company/Richmond Depot



Community Safety Award of Valour

Mohammad Kallas

David MacGyver & Lawrence Layton



Integrated Community Safety Award

BCAS & Fire Rescue, PCP Alex Mattes, ACP Will Riordon, Capt. John McCaffrey,

F/F’s Raminder Gill, James Beeby and Todd Stockdale



Career Achievement Awards (4)

Capt. Doug Scott, Richmond Fire Rescue

ACP Terry Dobson, British Columbia Ambulance Service

ACP Clarke McGuire, British Columbia Ambulance Service

Chief Engineer Scott Thomas, Canadian Coast Guard



Police Team or Officer or Auxiliary Member of the Year

Cst. Vasile Mares



Fire Rescue Crew or Firefighter of the Year

Fire Investigator Alex van Bruksvoort



Ambulance Crew or Ambulance Paramedic Crew of the Year

ACP Ron van Houten & CCP Steve Hurley



Canadian Coast Guard Crew, Member or Auxiliary of the Year

Leading Seaman/ Public Safety Driver: Dave Schur, Mike Hawley & Gary Nolan




For additional event info:



Media contact:

Matt Pitcairn
Manager of Communication and Policy
Richmond Chamber of Commerce
Office: 604-278-2822